An FFL (Federal Firearms License) Transfer is performed when you purchase a firearm through a third party (Armslist, Gunbroker, Buds Gun Shop, Cheaper than Dirt, etc.) or you do a private deal or exchange with someone than necessitates shipping the firearm.
When you purchase a firearm online, the law requires it to be shipped to an FFL and a background check be done on the recipient.
Before You Buy
Before purchasing your firearm from an out-of-state seller ask yourself the following question: is this firearm, along with its accessories, legal for me to own in the state of Colorado? Right now, Colorado Law dictates that it is illegal for you to transfer a high-capacity magazine. High-capacity is defined as a magazine that holds 16 or more rounds; for example, an unmodified 9mm Springfield XDM magazing can hold 19 rounds, so this magazine cannot be sold in the state of Colorado and some firearms dealers will not ship these items firearms to Colorado, so keep that in mind when you are making your purchase. It is the sole responsibility of the purchaser to know what they can and cannot purchase. If you are unsure what the law dictates, please do not hesitate to ask us.
Just After Purchase and FFL Information
The seller will need our FFL license information. You can give the seller our FFL copy by downloading it right here.
What to expect when you pick up your firearm
Once your firearm arrives at our store, it will take us a little time to process it. We call the recipient when it is ready to pick up.
When you arrive to pick up your new firearm, you are required to display a current form of Government ID* with your current Colorado address on it and fill out a background check (Form 4473). Military members, please bring a copy of your PCS orders if you have an out of state drivers license.
The time of day and how many applications are ahead of you in the Colorado Bureau of Investigation (CBI) system determines how long you will wait. The transfer fee must be paid in advance if you intend on leaving the store before the check is complete. If the background check comes back as "Denied" the transfer fee will be returned to you minus $10.50 and we will help you make arrangements for the firearm you purchased.
*Photo ID requirements:
Acceptable identification is a valid government-issued ID that contains your current Colorado address. If it does not have your current address on it, you must have something in addition to the photo ID that proves your current residency (i.e. car registration, tax document, utility bill etc.).
If you are in the military and you are stationed in Colorado, you will need to bring your current (unexpired) Driver’s license and a copy of your military PCS orders to a base located in Colorado. You also need proof of Colorado address and that you've resided in Colorado for at least 90 days.
How much will it cost?
Our Transfer fees are the cheapest in the area and we offer discounts for our military, veterans, and law enforcement.
Your total fee is $31.00 for the first firearm and $5.00 for each additional firearm in the same transaction. If you are active duty, a veteran or law enforcement the total fee is $26.00 and $5.00 for each additional firearm in the same transaction.
If you have any questions about the FFL Transfer process, please contact us.